Cape Town, South Africa

This summer, I had one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I was fortunate enough to spend two weeks in Cape Town, South Africa doing a law and human rights internship with a company called Projects Abroad. It was incredibly eye-opening, rewarding, and most importantly, I enjoyed every moment I spent there. Not only did I gain a better knowledge of South African law and was able to further my public speaking and debating skills, I had a firsthand look at the many problems South Africa faces as it’s a third world country.

One of the projects we did during our two weeks was prepare a presentation for a group of people from a township, particularly about gangsterism which is arguably one of the most prominent problems they face. When preparing the presentation, I was a bit puzzled and confused as we were unsure about what to focus on. We couldn’t stand there talking about the history and horrors of gangsterism because these people grew up surrounded by it and experienced the impacts of it themselves. We also didn’t want to come across as arrogant and as if we knew everything by telling them what to do to stop it because obviously, it’s not that simple. We came up with ideas but in order for them to be implemented and effective, they required funding and our two weeks there weren’t enough to even start it up so we felt hopeless and depressed for a little while.

We found a middle ground by researching what was already up and running and telling our audience about these facilities and how important they were in trying to break the vicious cycle of gangsterism. For example, there are schools that let you return to finish grade 12 at any age because only 20% of people from the townships do finish school, and this qualification is vital for trying to get any job and improving their lifestyles. There are also after school programs already established for children to attend where they can explore their passions such as joining a sports team, playing a musical instrument, or even getting help with schoolwork. These programs are extremely important because they teach kids that they could be successful in doing what they love and that there are other options for their futures instead of joining a gang because this is what they’re used to. We also got the chance to visit a center in Khayelitsha which is a township in Cape Town where they teach coding to young boys and girls which I think is amazing.

Following our presentation, we spoke with our audience for some time to find out their thoughts. These men all agreed that drugs were the biggest problem in their own community. This was evident to me as well when we visited another township called Vrygond and witnessed drug deals taking place in plain sights on the streets and saw numerous people who clearly were experiencing the effects of drugs. As for solutions to this problem, one of the men quietly mentioned that there needed to be more rehabilitation centers because most people realized what they were doing was harmful but they struggled with quitting. I think we all know or have read stories about how difficult it is for addicts and help, preferably from a professional, is essential. These struggling addicts don’t have these resources and I think that they are necessary if the problems surrounding Cape Town and other similar areas are going to be solved.

For me, it was fascinating to hear about their lives and childhoods. I noticed that they were all so intelligent after one simple conversation. It was heartbreaking because I realized that if they had access to the same standard of education that I (and so many others) are fortunate enough to have, they could go so far. But for the majority of them, they will most likely remain in this same township and not reach their full potential, just like the generations before them, which is the cycle that we were are trying to break. However, they were extremely optimistic and wanted to achieve more than what their parents had which gave me hope for the future. I think that the best thing for me was seeing how passionate these guys were about soccer. They turned up wearing shirts from their favorite teams and were laughing and smiling while talking about how much they loved playing. One even proudly announced that he would be the first person from his family to play for Manchester United which brought a smile to my face. It was so inspiring to see that despite their difficult upbringings, they were still so positive and were living their lives to the fullest, doing what they loved.

This was probably the most eye-opening experience for me, but I learned so much throughout my whole experience. Some of the highlights were visiting the Bo Kaap in the city of Cape Town and learning about how revolutionary this community was during the Apartheid era as well as visiting their parliament where we learned more about South African government nowadays. There was one particular museum that was most striking to me- the District Six Museum. It wasn’t one of the most advertised events of the trip but for some reason, it is one of the places I remember the most vividly. District Six was an area in the city where over 60,000 of its inhabitants were forcibly removed during the 1970’s by the apartheid regime. I didn’t know what to expect leading up to the visit but when we arrived, I found that the museum was one large room with history embedded everywhere and was actually a non profit museum. There was a massive map spread out which took up the whole floor and had all the names of the streets and scale buildings drawn on it. People had come in and labeled their names on their families’ old homes before the horrendous actions took place, so the entire map was covered in writing. There was another sheet of cloth from the ceiling down to the floor that was also dotted with writing from hundreds of people where they wrote about their best memories from the area so it acted as a keepsake for them to look back on. Walking around that museum felt like a complete immersion into history where I felt like I was apart of that time. Obviously, I don’t think I will ever be able to comprehend how those people felt being banished from their homes due to the color of their skin but this museum gave me a small insight into that.

One of my favorite parts of the trip was when we prepared 100 food parcels and distributed them in Vrygond. At first, there were only a few children who came but by the end, there were so many of them that we didn’t have enough parcels to give out. The precious smiles on their faces when we handed them out were absolutely priceless and something I will never, ever forget. Something so small as a sandwich, juice box, and lollipop made a child so happy and I will forever be grateful that I had that opportunity and hope to continue this in the future so I can see more happy faces.

Another unforgettable moment was visiting Cape Point where my friends and I discovered an incredible, secluded beach that was absolutely stunning and felt like heaven. I was mesmerized and couldn’t stop exclaiming my happiness because it really was the most beautiful place I had ever been. The safari was also amazing. We drove around in a large Jeep and saw elephants, lions, rhinos and more and although it was freezing (South African winter😕) and we got soaked from the rain, the experience into the wild was unbelievable.

Therefore, I think it’s safe to say that this was one of the best two weeks spent in my entire life. I learned so much during this trip and hope reading this was educational for you as well. South Africa is a stunning country and is packed full of history, and I’m so thankful I was lucky enough to be able to attend this internship. I’ve vowed to go back and do what I can to improve the lifestyles of the lovely people in the townships. As I’ve returned home, I’ve been thinking about how I can better their lives and am aiming to establish something that I could put into place next time I visit that will have a significant impact. I hope you have found my experience interesting and if you are ever able to travel there yourself, I would highly recommend it.


Leave a comment